What are the five ocean in the world?

by Chun Sik Kim|28 Nov 2020|Game|Sailing|354 views
Historically, there are four named ocean basins: the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, and Arctic. However, most countries - including the United States - now recognize the Southern (Antarctic) as the fifth ocean basin. The Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian are the most commonly known.

Herein, what are the 7 seas and 5 Oceans?

Some geographers point to the Age of Discovery and suggest that the seven seas represent the Atlantic, Pacific, Arctic, and Indian Oceans, as well as the Mediterranean Sea, the Caribbean, and the Gulf of Mexico.

Additionally, what are the oceans named after?

The term 'ocean' comes from the Latin word “ōkeanos” which translates to the “great stream encircling the earth's disc”. This was used by the Greeks to describe the single mass of water that they believed surrounded the earth. Ōkeanos was used with contrasting reference to the inland waters of the Mediterranean Sea.

What defines an ocean?

Definition of ocean. 1a : the whole body of salt water that covers nearly three fourths of the surface of the earth. b : any of the large bodies of water (such as the Atlantic Ocean) into which the great ocean is divided. 2 : a very large or unlimited space or quantity.

What is the hottest continent on Earth?


Quote of the Day

It is very easy to criticize, but very difficult to improve.

Related Questions

Top Authors